Admiral of the Fleet

Page history last edited by PBworks 15 years, 8 months ago

Admiral of the Fleet


Admiral of the fleet is the highest ranking naval officer of Great-Britain.

When he is commanding at sea he is distinguished by the flying of the union flag at the main top masthead rather than a squadron coloured command flag.


Holders of the position 1690 to 1850

Date of Appointment
1690Edward Russell, 1st Earl of Orford
1696Sir George Rooke
13 January 1705Sir Cloudesley Shovell
8 January 1708Sir John Leake
21 December 1708Sir Stafford Fairborne
22 December 1708Sir John Leake
12 November 1709Matthew, Lord Aylmer
26 January 1710Sir John Leake
3 April 1712Sir John Leake
19 March 1713Sir John Leake
5 November 1714Matthew, Lord Aylmer
14 March 1718George Byng, 1st Viscount Torrington
20 February 1734Sir John Norris
1 July 1749Sir Chaloner Ogle
22 November 1751James Steuart
March 1757George Clinton
30 July 1761George Anson, 1st Baron Anson
17 December 1762Sir William Rowley
15 January 1768Edward Hawke, 1st Baron Hawke
24 October 1781John Forbes
12 March 1796Richard Howe, 1st Earl Howe
16 September 1799Sir Peter Parker, 1st Baronet
24 December 1811HRH Prince William, 1st Duke of Clarence
19 July 1821John Jervis, 1st Earl of St Vincent
28 June 1830William Freeman Williams
22 July 1830James Gambier, 1st Baron Gambier
22 July 1830Sir Charles Morice Pole, 1st Baronet
24 April 1833Sir Charles Edmund Nugent
8 January 1844Sir James Hawkins Whitshed
9 November 1846Sir George Martin
13 October 1849Sir Thomas Martin


Wikepedia Page on Admirals of the Fleet

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.